The other day, as I was leaving Walgreens, I heard this horrible high-pitched sound in my car. I first made sure all of the windows were rolled up properly.
They were.
I turned off the radio to make sure it wasn't part of some (horrible) song.
It wasn't.
I realized I had the A/C going, so maybe one of the vents wasn't opened all the way? You know how sometimes if you open or close the air vents, some air squeaks through (literally)? I checked them all, and it made no difference. I could still hear the high-pitched whining noise, almost like an awful whistle or some tiny fairy screaming while it's infesting the tissue of my brain. The only thing that made the noise go away was cranking the A/C fan up to 3.
So I did.
Until I got too cold, but then I was thankfully near my destination so I didn't have to be cold or have a headache by the horrible squealing noise Satan brain fairy.
Later that night, when leaving rehearsal, I heard the sound again. Crap! I thought, and I went to crank the A/C fan to 3...when I realized I didn't have the A/C on. At all.
But you know what was "on"?
The pink car lighter adapter and (matching pink) lightning cord I had purchased from Walgreens earlier that day, which was currently charging my phone.
What the...???
I unplugged the cords at a stoplight. The high-pitched noise stopped.
I plugged them back in. The noise started again: eeeeeeeeeeeeeeIIIIIIIEeeeeeeeeeeeeee
I unplugged them again. The tiny demon fairy noise stopped.
I plugged it back in -- eeeeeIIIIIIIEeeeeee -- I wiggled the plug around to make sure it was connected all the way.
It was.
The noise didn't stop.
I sighed and unplugged the cord for good so my brain would stop screaming in unison with the squealing.
This was not the super power I wanted*, Universe!
It's the same super power that lets me hear if a TV or computer monitor is plugged in within a 20+ foot radius.
It's the same super power that lets me hear "silent" dog whistles.
And now it lets me pick up iOS charging materials.
*Where's Leonard's origin story? Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeell, have you heard about my #lightningcar? Or the airplane I was in that was struck by lightning? Or those times I was electrically shocked? But instead of Electro, I got Krypto the Super Dog.
Wherein we discuss writing, literature, language, rhetoric, knitting, acting, sci-fi, fantasy, and living in one of America's most dangerous cities.
Showing posts with label lightning car. Show all posts
Showing posts with label lightning car. Show all posts
Tuesday, May 24, 2016
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
3:30 a.m. Thoughts: Karmic Credit Plan
My Unit and I often disagree about the workings of the Universe or "fate" or whatever you'd like to call it (neither of us are "God" or religious people). She tends to believe that things happen for a reason -- all things -- often in ways we don't realize or that aren't immediately apparent. (I did write up a story of when I saw this philosophy in action, but I can't find it at the moment). I tend to be a "Sometimes shit just happens" person, especially when I cannot see a reason in what has transpired.
My favorite recent example is #lightningcar. There is no good reason for lightning to strike one's car. In the almost month that followed, trying to get my car fixed, I could find no "good" thing to come of it. It did not lead to any new opportunities (as weird things often can). It just happened. It happened, and it sucked. (Yes, I'm fine; I was not in the car when lightning hit, but nearby in my house.)
This morning around 3:30 a.m., unable to fall asleep, I had an astounding (and horrifying) thought: what if, when bad shit does happen, the reason is on the other side of the world? Somewhere, far away from me, is a person to whom good things are happening -- things over which they have no control or maybe even things they don't appear to deserve. In order to keep balance in the Universe, the payment has to come from somewhere, so BAM! Lightning strikes my car. Or a person gets rear-ended at a stoplight. Or you spill your morning coffee all over your new outfit. Your mileage may vary, but you get my point.
People who we think are "lucky" or people to whom good things happens, especially if/when they don't appear to have "earned" them, are perhaps just on the plus column of Karma's checks and balances. People who seem to have bad luck, those of us who just can't catch a break -- we're paying the price for the people above. The payment (or energy) has to come from somewhere, right?
There's a tiny bit of comfort in knowing that my (or your) bad day, bad luck, random shit that happens, could be because someone out there is finally getting the break deserve; there's (teeny) comfort in having a reason why things happen.
There's a terror and horror in the realization that we have no control over this system of checks and balances; that there may be no rhyme or reason why who gets what, so long as it all balances in the end.
And that, kids, is why I've been awake since the wee hours of the morning.
My favorite recent example is #lightningcar. There is no good reason for lightning to strike one's car. In the almost month that followed, trying to get my car fixed, I could find no "good" thing to come of it. It did not lead to any new opportunities (as weird things often can). It just happened. It happened, and it sucked. (Yes, I'm fine; I was not in the car when lightning hit, but nearby in my house.)
This morning around 3:30 a.m., unable to fall asleep, I had an astounding (and horrifying) thought: what if, when bad shit does happen, the reason is on the other side of the world? Somewhere, far away from me, is a person to whom good things are happening -- things over which they have no control or maybe even things they don't appear to deserve. In order to keep balance in the Universe, the payment has to come from somewhere, so BAM! Lightning strikes my car. Or a person gets rear-ended at a stoplight. Or you spill your morning coffee all over your new outfit. Your mileage may vary, but you get my point.
People who we think are "lucky" or people to whom good things happens, especially if/when they don't appear to have "earned" them, are perhaps just on the plus column of Karma's checks and balances. People who seem to have bad luck, those of us who just can't catch a break -- we're paying the price for the people above. The payment (or energy) has to come from somewhere, right?
There's a tiny bit of comfort in knowing that my (or your) bad day, bad luck, random shit that happens, could be because someone out there is finally getting the break deserve; there's (teeny) comfort in having a reason why things happen.
There's a terror and horror in the realization that we have no control over this system of checks and balances; that there may be no rhyme or reason why who gets what, so long as it all balances in the end.
And that, kids, is why I've been awake since the wee hours of the morning.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

